About this event

iCoRD 2015 is an international conference on Rydberg physics to be held at Durham University from 28th June to 3rd July 2015 and the final event organised by the EU Marie Curie Initial Training Network "COHERENCE". The conference will feature a series of invited talks as well as "COHERENCE Showcase" talks in which the participating groups will present their research in the context of the network.

Deadlines for registration

Deadline for registration: 8th May, 2015

Deadline for abstract submission: 22nd May, 2015

Inquiries should be addressed to

List of invited speakers

  • Silvia Bergamini (Open University)
  • Grant Biedermann (Sandia National Laboratories)
  • Michel Brune (ENS Paris)
  • Mike Charlton (Swansea)
  • Barry Dunning (Rice)
  • Stephan Dürr (MPQ Garching)
  • Francesca Ferlaino (Innsbruck)
  • Tom Gallagher (Virginia)
  • Chris Greene (Purdue)
  • Christian Gross (MPQ Garching)
  • Dieter Jaksch (Oxford)
  • Thomas Kazimierczuk (TU Dortmund)
  • Tom Killian (Rice)
  • Igor Lesanovsky (Nottingham)
  • Jabez McClelland (NIST Gaithersburg)
  • Brian Neyenhuis (JQI Maryland)
  • Beatriz Olmos Sanchez (Nottingham)
  • Herwig Ott (Kaiserslautern)
  • Roee Ozeri (Weizmann Institute)
  • Georg Raithel (Michigan)
  • Hossein Sadeghpour (ITAMP/Harvard)
  • Mark Saffman (Wisconsin)
  • Ferdinand Schmidt-Kahler (Mainz)
  • Rob Scholten (Melbourne)
  • James Shaffer (Oklahoma)
  • Edgar Vredenbregt (Eindhoven)
  • Andreas Wallraff (ETH Zürich)
  • Lijan Zhang

Futhers speakers will be announced shortly.

Coherence Showcase

As ICoRD 2015 is the last in a series of events organised by the EU Marie Curie ITN COHERENCE, a European network to train and support young postgraduate and postdoctoral researchers in the field of Rydberg physics, several talks will be given to showcase the work of the various participating groups over the last four years.

The talks will be given by the young researchers trained by the network, unless this is not possible.

The following groups participate in the Coherence network

  • Aarhus Universitet (Group of K. Mølmer)
  • Universiteit van Amsterdam (Group of B. van Linden van den Heuvell)
  • MPI for Physics of Complex Systems, Dresden (Groups of J. M. Rost and T. Pohl)
  • Durham University (Group of C. Adams)
  • Universidad de Granada (Group of R. González-Férez)
  • University of Hamburg (Group of P. Schmelcher)
  • Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg (Group of M. Weidemüller)
  • Universität Innsbruck (Group of P. Zoller)
  • University of Oxford (Group of T. Softley)
  • CNRS Laboratoire Charles Fabry de l´Institut d´Optique, Palaiseau (Group of A. Browaeys)
  • CNRS Laboratoire Aimé Cotton, Orsay (Group of P. Pillet)
  • CNR Universitá di Pisa (Group of E. Arimondo)
  • Universität Stuttgart (Groups of H. P. Büchler and T. Pfau)
  • TOPTICA Photonics AG
  • ETH Zürich (Group of F. Merkt)



Back to full list of conferences.